Tycho – Spectre


Tycho has a new album out entitled Awake, which was released last month via Ghostly International (the label behind Phantogram and Gold Panda). The San Franciso-based trio originally started as the solo project of Scott Hansen, whose sound has evolved from a primarily ambient composition into a more organic, post-rock electronic soundscape with the addition of guitarist Zac Brown amd drummer Rory O’Connor. The single “Spectre” off the LP is a beautiful, propulsive instrumental brimming with electric bass lines, energetic drums and distinct guitar patterns. Currently embarking on a tour all across the country, Tycho will be playing at DC’s 930 Club April 20.