Alpine – Foolish


Australian act Alpine had one of our favorite albums of 2012, A Is For Alpine. Nearly three years later, the six-piece released new album YUCK this month on Ivy League Records for which they’re already receiving critical acclaim. Their second studio album was inspired by 1960’s pop and built on the group’s repulsive reaction (“yuck”)—and simultaneous exploration of—”first world problems”: awkward dates, a distaste for romance, lust lost, plastic vanity, foolish attraction and ego against egos.

The lead track off the LP, “Foolish” consists of breezy vocals from female frontwomen Phoebe Baker and Lou James, tropical synths and buoyant beats. The band and their particular brand of quirkpop is rounded out by Christian O’Brien (guitar), Ryan Lamb (bass), Tim Royall (keys) and Phil Tucker (drums).

Stream “Foolish” and revisit standout track “Hands” from their debut LP below.


One thought on “Alpine – Foolish

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s