RMX ROUNDUP: Jai Paul + Niia x WKND / Odesza + Jordan James / Caribou


While we were hard pressed not to dedicate this edition of Remix Roundup to the surge of Odesza “Say My Name” remixes, we restrained ourselves. So instead, we’re kicking off this week’s installment with WKND‘s rendition of Jai Paul’s stellar track “BTSTU,” which frankly we feel didn’t get its due. The German producer mashes up the captivating JP original with a cover by Niia. Since getting turned on to “BTSTU” we haven’t been able to get enough, and this luscious deep house rework keeps us equally enthused.

Naturally, we couldn’t escape this week’s roundup without sharing at least one of the Odesza mixes which have been sprouting up all over since the inception of the TSIS contest. While we’re psyched about the awesome amount of innovation the contest has inspired — and appreciative to those artists who’ve shared their efforts with us — there are simply too many to feature all. (The moral of the story may be that it helps to have good raw material). And though we do not recommend trying to listen to them all in one sitting, we do encourage everyone to check out the fresh new crop of talent before the contest ends October 27.

Amidst the chaos though, the one remix that’s stayed with us is the Jordan James edit (currently no. 5 in the rankings). We love that the Australian producer keeps the sultry vocals of Zyra at the forefront over a shimmering stratum of synths, even brassing it up in the bridge with the addition of some French horns.

And finally, in celebration of Caribou‘s much anticipated album Our Love that drops via Merge in the US and Canada October 7, stream the title track below. Collaborating with Owen Pallett (as if Dan Snaith releasing a new album wasn’t exciting enough), Pallett helps Dan to achieve greatness by adding some spectral strings and sparing baroque riffs. In an interview with Stereogum, Dan explains: “When I sent it to Owen and asked him to write parts I was talking about the arrangement and layout of the song as a kind of chess game where the parts move around one another in a sort of dance.” The result is pure electro-alchemy.

Purchase the album Tuesday on iTunes, and be sure to catch his show at DC’s Black Cat if you’re in the area November 15.

Odesza – Say My Name


Hot off the release of new album In Return via Counter Records earlier this month, the Seattle-based duo Odesza — who’ve experienced a steady stream of success over the past year — have sold out more than half of their fall tour dates. Standout track off the LP “Say My Name” features the vocals of Zyra alongside their signature inventive soundscapes, and some additional chopped vocals from Madelyn Grant. Incidentally, there’s a slew of remixes of this song happening as part of the This Song Is Sick official remix contest. So if you’re dying for different variations of the tune, head over to the contest page and vote for your favorite before it ends October 17. Listen to the original below, along with some of our other faves, “Always This Late” and “Sun Models.”

Odesza is performing at DC’s U Street Music Hall TONIGHT! If you missed your chance to get tix, you can still purchase the album here.

RMX ROUNDUP: London Grammar + The Aston Shuffle / ZHU + Odesza / Racing Glaciers + backstroke.


Welcome to another edition of Remix Roundup! Let’s get started with a scintillating new rework of London Grammar‘s “Wasting My Young Years,” by Aussie producers The Aston Shuffle. Having already been remixed several times over, the Sydney duo manage to put a new, up-tempo take on the track with their signature house sound and the addition of steel drums. Next up is the phenom new remix of ZHU‘s hit track, “Faded,” from Seattle production duo Odesza. Somewhat different from their prior releases, Odesza’s darker treatment with the use of distorted guitars and earth-shattering percussion makes for a dizzying and disorienting experience in a deeply satisfying way. Last up is the new remix of Racing Glaciers “First Light” from DC’s own remix artist, backstroke.. Elegantly crafted with an expansive soundscape, shuffling synths and tranquilizing trumpet, backstroke. have made one for the books, already claiming the top spot on HypeM. Stream all three below, and pick up the backstroke. remix gratis on Soundcloud.

Beat Connection – Saola (Odesza Remix)


Beat Connection is quite possibly my favorite new electropop group to emerge last year. From Seattle, the tropic-vibes trio released their debut LP The Palace Garden August of 2012. They kicked off a brief West coast tour last week with fellow Washington based duo Odesza, who remixed their track “Saola” in honor of the collaboration.

Grab the track (gratis!) below, and sample some of the other ‘beats’ as well.

I feel too little and think too much.

Upcoming Tour Dates:
5/7 – Sacramento: Jambalaya (w/Odesza)
5/9 – Eugene: WOW Hall (w/Odesza)
5/10 – Vancouver: The Electric Owl (w/Odesza)
5/17 – Seattle: Neumos Crystal Ball

2012 Honorable Mentions: Part Deux

More notable tracks/artists from 2012 that frequented my playlists.


1. Y Luv – Never Touch the Ground


2. Kimbra – Settle Down


3. Poolside – Why You Wanna


4. Solange – Losing You


5. Two Door Cinema Club – Sun


6. Local Natives – Breakers


7. Gabrielle Aplin – Please Don’t Say You Love Me (Cyril Hahn Remix)


8. The Dig – I Already Forgot Everything You Said


9. MNDR – Feed Me Diamonds (RAC Mix)


10. Odesza – How Did I Get Here

Odesza – iPlayYouListen

Odesza, an electronic Washington-based duo dropped their debut album Summer’s Gone earlier this month.

The track “iPlayYouListen” caught my attention in particular.  Most likely because it samples the alluring vocals of Local Natives (or at least, I’m fairly certain it does).


The album is available for download in its entirety here.