The Cactus Channel – Kill The Doubt (ft. Chet Faker)


Australian instrumental act The Cactus Channel has announced a two-track recording with soul crooner Chet Faker. As formidable fans of both Faker as well as contemporary jazz, this is basically a collab made in heaven for CCP. The two tracks, “Kill The Doubt” and “Sleeping Alone” are purportedly two years in the making, and are available now on vinyl and digital via HopeStreet and Downtown Records. The ten-piece band’s horns and organic instrumentation pair well with Chet Faker’s vocals — who’s typically accompanied by a more electronic backing — and equates to a refreshing hybrid of classic soul and funk. Hear both tracks below.

scholar – Lovin You


The finest electronic tracks often sample an earlier hit song, and such is the case with scholar‘s latest effort, “Lovin You.” The Brisbane-based production duo consisting of Luke Cuerel and Nick Kirk claim they “were looking for a more upbeat, sample driven follow up to [their] last single ‘Daylight,’ something a bit bigger with bright, lush tones.”

Settling on Strike‘s ’90s smash dance single “U Sure Do” for the sample — a track which actually draws from a Donna Allen song — “Lovin You” replaces the original uptempo dance beat with with a blissed out, synth-washed tropical soundscape. The exquisite end result is a lesson on sampling done right. Stream below and download the track for free on scholar’s Soundcloud.

LANKS – Hold Me Closer

lanks (1)

Australian producer Will Cuming, aka LANKS released his sophomore EP Banquet last week and if woozy electronic production is your thing, the six-track collection should be added to your listening library stat. Mixed by Andrei Eremin (Oscar Key Sung, Chet Faker), the EP contains a dreamy set of downtempo numbers laced in intricately woven melodies and moody vocals. With its guitar strums and beckoning synths, “Hold Me Closer” is our pick for best track — hear it below.

Alpine – Foolish


Australian act Alpine had one of our favorite albums of 2012, A Is For Alpine. Nearly three years later, the six-piece released new album YUCK this month on Ivy League Records for which they’re already receiving critical acclaim. Their second studio album was inspired by 1960’s pop and built on the group’s repulsive reaction (“yuck”)—and simultaneous exploration of—”first world problems”: awkward dates, a distaste for romance, lust lost, plastic vanity, foolish attraction and ego against egos.

The lead track off the LP, “Foolish” consists of breezy vocals from female frontwomen Phoebe Baker and Lou James, tropical synths and buoyant beats. The band and their particular brand of quirkpop is rounded out by Christian O’Brien (guitar), Ryan Lamb (bass), Tim Royall (keys) and Phil Tucker (drums).

Stream “Foolish” and revisit standout track “Hands” from their debut LP below.


I’lls – Let Me Have Just One


Another day, another solid Australian electronic act. The Melbourne three-piece known as I’lls (and pronounced “isles”) is comprised of Simon Lam (drums, vocals), Hamish Mitchell (keys) and Dan Rutman (guitar). The guys, who are classically-trained jazz musicians call themselves “the outcasts of jazz — jazz rogues.” Having enjoyed success in their native Australia, they are on their way to breaking out overseas thanks in part to the support of artists like Chet Faker for their distinctive left-of-centre pop sound. Their new single, “Let Me Have Just One” is an intriguing and evocative track that will be featured on their upcoming EP, Can I Go With You To Go Back To My Country.

Stream below and look out for the EP to release July 6 via Solitaire.


Miami Horror – Love Like Mine

Miami Horror

Australian outfit Miami Horror have just released their second LP, All Possible Futures via Dine Alone Records and are currently on tour in North America in support of the LP. The new record is ripe with post-disco dance jams inspired by ’80s rock groups along the likes of Talking Heads, New Order and INXS — as well as iconic pop stars such as Paul Simon and Michael Jackson. The sunny disposition on the album can be attributed to the band’s time spent writing and producing the album in LA.

Listen to the catchy lead single, “Love Like Mine” and check out their stateside tour dates below. DC peeps will have the chance to see Miami Horror live in concert at U Street Music Hall June 19.

Upcoming Tour Dates:
6/19 – U Hall – Washington, DC
6/20 – The Dolphin (DJ Set) – Philadelphia, PA
6/23 – Rough Trade – Brooklyn, NY
6/24 – The Sinclair – Boston, MA
6/25 – Fairmount Theatre – Montreal, QC
6/26 – Lee’s Palace – Toronto, ON
6/28 – Electric Forest – Rothbury, MI
6/30 – Schubas – Chicago, IL
7/2   – High Watt – Nashville, TN

Little May – Hide


Sydney trio Little May has a handful of select US tour dates this month, gracing the District with their presence this Sunday, June 7 in support of The Vaccines at 9:30 Club. The indie-folk outfit has a sound that has been compared to First Aid Kit, Fleetwood Mac and Haim. Stream their single “Hide” for a sample of their sweeping acoustic production and delicate three-part harmonies, and look out for their debut full-length to be released via Capitol Records later this year.

As a bonus, listen to the Duncan Murray bootleg of the lauded Little May track below. The London producer flips the vocal and ups the tempo, giving it a completely new and equally enchanting vibe.

Little May US Tour Dates:

6.6.15 – Gentlemen of the Road Stopover Tour – Seaside Heights, NJ
6.7.15 – 9:30 Club – Washington, DC
6.8.15 – Johnny Brenda’s – Philadelphia, PA
6.10.15 – The High Watt – Nashville, TN
6.11.15 – Bonnaroo – Manchester, TN
6.13.15 – Rough Trade – New York, NY

GRRL PAL – Nerve


GRRL PAL Is a new duo from Australia who are on a mission to release a song a month until the end of 2015. Their latest track, proffered for the month of May is called “Nerve” and might be the dreamiest offering to date in their platter of “star-dusted bedroom pop.” Comprised of Danny K on production and Jay LeKat on vox, the duo show a more delicate, restrained side of their electropop sensibilities on the single, revealing more complexities with each ensuing listen.

“Nerve” will be released on a four-track EP due out sometime in August. Hear the single below, along with one of their more exuberant releases off their 2015 debut EP, Paradise. Co-produced by Parker Ighile (Nicki Minaj, Rihanna), the track “Dare” was inspired by a boozy game of spin the bottle — so take a chance and give it a spin, okay grrrl?

Feki – Remember


Rising Australian producer Feki recently released an original single called “Remember,” which caught our ears for its smooth and soulful production. Fuse future beats with R&B grooves, plus pitch-shifted vocal samples from Whitney Houston’s “It’s Not Right But It’s Okay” and you have a downtempo dish done right. Stream below and pick up a free download on Soundcloud.